Yarn and Needle Inventory Management

I think I’m officially a knitter.  I buy yarn I don’t have a plan for.  I buy needles “just in case” I might need them for a gauge issue or an impromptu project.  My stash is overflowing its designated area and I have no concrete idea of what I have on hand and what I don’t.

What methods to you use to keep your inventory organized?  Notes jotted down and kept in your wallet or on your crafting table?  A spreadsheet?  Ravelry?  (I’m neopurl, btw.  Add me if you want!)  An eidetic memory?

I think I’m going to try to use Ravelry’s Stash and Needles & Hooks functions more effectively.  You can add the information about any yarn or needles you have on hand so you’re immediately able to tell if you have what you need for a project.  Unfortunately, that assumes you actually add the information.  That’s where I’m at right now.  Sometimes I add, most of the time I don’t.  It really is a great organizer, though.

The Stash page displays all of your yarns and the information you’ve put into the system.

ravelry-stash

You can use that to keep yourself organized or to advertise yarn that you’re willing to sell or trade.

The Needles & Hooks area keeps track of the items of the same name.  You can also print out a handy little pocket card to have your inventory at your fingertips.

ravelry-needles

As you can see, I’ve added a handful of items in both areas, but it certainly doesn’t reflect my whole stash.  I don’t know if I’ll have time for it until my Christmas crafts are done, but I plan to get organized for the new year.  …said everyone ever.  Ha!

Let me know how you keep yourself from being buried in unorganized yarn!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Yarn and Needle Inventory Management

    1. Hi, Cosmo! Thanks for stopping by!
      Do you add things as you purchase or do you dump a bunch of stuff in when you have time? I’m really going to try to add as I go, but I have a tough time staying on top of it!

      Like

      1. I add as I go but occasionally slip and have to do a catch up. The easiest way I find is to record all my projects so I add the yarn I’ve bought to my stash and cast it on in Ravelry straight away. Finish the project and enter the weight of yarn used and it knocks it off your stash total automatically that way. It kind of punctuates each piece of work and it’s great to be able to look back at everything.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment