Knitting Joins

What’s your favorite join to use while knitting??

I’m still working on my sweater and I’m getting close to the end of my current skein.  As some of you know from my oops post, I think I tried to do a (failed) overcast join and now have a bit of a mess than I’ve been ignoring.  As another join approaches, I’m exploring different options.  TECHknitting has a great post outlining ten different methods for working in ends, and that’s given me a lot of info and ideas.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to try the back join for this transition.

But I’m really wondering what preferences are out there.  I know that different applications (depending on yarn type, yarn weight, stitch, color, etc) are better suited for different types of joins, but what’s your default?  If there’s nothing guiding you, what do you fall back on as your join of choice?

 

4 thoughts on “Knitting Joins

  1. Thanks for sharing the TECHknitter article! I love trying out new joins. I’ve recently been doing the Russian join but it’s not my favorite. I don’t like that the yarn is doubled for those few stitches. Sometimes I wont do a join but just start knitting with the next skein leave a tail on the old skein and new skein to weave in and close the gap that forms.

    Like

    1. Becca, thanks for commenting!
      I think that I essentially just brought the new yarn in and dropped the old yarn. It appears to have a larrrrge gap, however, and I’m not sure how to proceed. I’ve just tied the ends in a bow and I’ve been avoiding it since then. I’ve been working up my nerve to take a look at it and I’ll give a shot to weaving in the ends so it’s strong enough and looks presentable. Wish me luck!

      Like

  2. Like Becca, I’m most likely to start knitting with the new skein – I usually try to introduce the new skein maybe 10 stitches before I want it to start showing up, and use stranded knitting to anchor it in place, and then I phase out the old yarn the same way, stranding it out over maybe 10 stitches. I’ll usually go back afterwards and weave those strands back in in the opposite direction – although I’m working on something with Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift yarn, and I’m finding it’s such a “sticky” yarn that I don’t think I’ll need to weave in ends. The stranding should be enough.

    Like

    1. Heya, Jeph! Thanks for popping in! I appreciate the feedback and I’m feeling a bit more confident about my situation now that I have two votes in a row for just phasing new yarn in without a true join.
      I looked up the Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift; looks lovely!

      Like

Leave a comment